Henderson Bishop

The Henderson Bishop is a Scottish Curling competition and entries are made directly to Scottish Curling, usually by 30th June, see the Competitions page on its website. Preliminary rounds are played at each ice rink with the winners going through to the national final in February/March. The Edinburgh playdowns take place in the first week of December and the winner of these is presented with the Sir John Gilmour Cup.

The final of Edinburgh playdowns for 2022 – 23 took place on Thursday 8th December and was sponsored by Susan Kesley of Ivory Clothing, Haddington. The winners of the John Gilmour Trophy were R Addinall, C Dodds, J Florence and Avril Anderson. The runners-up were B Watt, S Watt, L Wilson and Edith Butler.

The National Finals will held at Stranraer from 27th February to 2nd March 2023 when both rinks will compete, the winners as Murrayfield 1 and runners-up as Murrayfield 2.

Runners Up: B Watt, S Watt, L Wilson, E Butler

Winners of the Sir John Gilmour Trophy
R Addinall, C Dodds, J Florence, A Anderson

The history of the Sir John Gilmour Cup

Sir John’s trophy was to be played for by Lady Members of all Local Clubs connected with the Royal Club in Scotland and England, and if won three times by the same Club — not necessarily in succession — would become the property of the Club.  Interest in the ladies’ competition at home was initially small, but with the growth of the sport on artificial ice at the Edinburgh Ice Rink, Haymarket, the ladies’ event became a regular occurrence, and in 1928 Mrs J. E. Crabbie and her Edinburgh rink beat Lady Ford’s Waverley team 22—6 after 16 ends. This secured the trophy for the Edinburgh Club.  The Sir John Gilmour Cup remained with the Crabbie family until 1970, when Mrs Crabbie’s son, George, presented it back for competition among the Edinburgh ladies ‘ clubs.  It was redesignated as the Cup won annually by the Edinburgh team which qualified for the final stages of the Royal Club Ladies Challenge Trophy, the Henderson Bishop.

Over half a century before the Ladies’ Branch was formed, Sir John Gilmour, Bart, of Lundin and Montrave, President of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club 1912 – 13, made his Presidency of the Royal Club memorable by the gift of a handsome trophy for competition among the ladies of the home country. This trophy was played for in 1914 when it was won by Balerno Ladies and not again until 1929 when it was won by Edinburgh Ladies.